kids banner

Blue Spruce Award Nominees


The Forest of Reading is an initiative of the Ontario Library Association (OLA), and celebrates Canadian books, authors, publishers, and illustrators. The Blue Spruce Award highlights recently published Canadian children's picture books, geared towards children under age 7. The Blue Spruce Awards emphasizes books that promote reading for enjoyment, and begin to develop the reader's skill in evaluating a picture book based on story, text and pictures

Fan, Terry.
The Night Gardener

2017 Winner!

Dawson, Willow.
The wolf-birds

Bailey, Linda
Stanley at school

Hutchins, H. J.

Fergus, Maureen.

VanSickle, Vikki
If I had a gryphon

Stinson, Kathy.
Harry and Walter

Peacock, Shane.
The artist and me