reading + entertainment banner

2016 Giller Prize


The Scotiabank Giller Prize strives to highlight the very best in Canadian fiction year after year. The prize awards $100,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English and $10,000 to each of the finalists. The award is named in honour of the late literary journalist Doris Giller and was founded in 1994 by her husband, Toronto businessman Jack Rabinovitch. The shortlist was announced on September 26, and the winner will be announced on November 7.

Awad, Mona
13 ways of looking at a fat girl

2016 Finalist

“A ferocious look at body image and how it permeates every aspect of our lives. At times funny, at others heart-breaking, this is an important one to read this year.” BookRiot, “The Best Books of 2016, So Far”

Barwin, Gary.
Yiddish for pirates

2016 Finalist

Yiddish for Pirates is a rollicking story, a linguistic typhoon, and the most audacious and original novel I’ve read in a long time. Gary Barwin has the imagination of David Mitchell and a galleon full of dictionaries.” —Emily Schultz, author of The Blondes

Donoghue, Emma
The wonder

2016 Finalist

“Her contemporary thriller Room (2010) made the author an international bestseller, but this gripping tale offers a welcome reminder that her historical fiction is equally fine.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Leroux, Catherine
The party wall

2016 Finalist

“Initially, The Party Wall reads like a collection of linked stories; past the halfway mark, however, it reveals itself as something more intricate and cumulative… A surprising, carefully structured novel that for English readers will bring to mind David Mitchell, this feels much more expansive than its page count.”
The Globe and Mail

Thien, Madeleine
Do not say we have nothing

2016 Finalist

“This is a resplendent, epic masterpiece of a novel that brings to light a dark period of Chinese history through wit, humour and nuanced storytelling. The characters linger long after the last page.” —Alice Pung, author of Unpolished Gem

Whittall, Zoe.
The best kind of people

2016 Finalist

"The jury found Zoe Whittall’s The Best Kind of People urgent and timely, nuanced and brave. This gripping story challenges how we hear women and girls, and dissects the self-hypnosis and fear that prevent us from speaking disruptive truth. With subversive precision and solid veracity, Whittall calls into question pervasive forms of silence and acquiescence." 2016 Scotiabank Giller Prize Jury