kids banner

Newbery Medal Award


The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."

Kelly, Erin Entrada.
Hello, universe

2018 Medal Winner!

Barnhill, Kelly Regan.
The girl who drank the moon

2017 Medal Winner!

Peña, Matt de la.
Last stop on Market Street

2016 Medal Winner!

Alexander, Kwame.
The crossover

2015 Medal Winner!

DiCamillo, Kate.
Flora & Ulysses

2014 Medal Winner!

Stead, Rebecca.
When you reach me

2010 Medal Winner!

Gaiman, Neil.
The graveyard book

2009 Medal Winner!

Kadohata, Cynthia.

2005 Medal Winner!