life + learning banner

75 State Street

75 State Street
Publication date: 
November 14, 1994.

Address: 75 State St.

Owners: James Morton Ltd.

Significance: Named for the boyhood home of Andrew Elliott, this one-of—kind home was built in 1834 by a Halifax ship’s carpenter. As a result this stone house features Halifax dormers and hurricane windows making it unique in the city. It was named Craigee Lea after the Scottish farm on which Elliott was raised, the same name carried that section of south Galt for many years. From a historical standpoint, Elliott was the first Reeve of Galt after its incorporation in 1850. The house was later owned by James Cowan, and turned into a storehouse by James A. Wilkie. In 1967 it was owned by the Imperial Wholesale Co. and two years later was taken over by James Morton Ltd. The building has not been designated, but is considered significant based on its architectural and historical merits.

Notes: 

Landmarks is a regular feature of the Cambridge Times. Information is supplied through the Cambridge Archives and MHAC, the Municipal Heritage Advisory Committee.
Built in 1834.