Address: 187 West River Rd.
Owner: Name withheld
Significance: This Ontario Gothic Revival home is thought to have been built in about 1850 for farmer William Cowan and was part of a 30 acre farm established in 1829 which ran down to the Grand River from West River Road. The property, according to the Waterloo Historical Society, was once the hiding place of the St. Andrews church bell which disappeared in the mid-18OOs when a split took place in the Presbyterian church. The old kirk bell resurfaced in 1869, just in time to be installed in the belfry of Knox‘s Galt Presbyterian Church.
Architecturally, the 1 1/2-storey granite and limestone home has been built in one of the picturesque styles of the mid to late 19th century. This home features an asymmetrical design with a pointed—arch window in a central fronting gable. The windows, doors, corners, and chimneys of the home have been accented in limestone. The main entrance is brightened by a transom and sidelights around a solid front door.
Landmarks is a regular feature of the Cambridge Times. Information is supplied through the Cambridge Archives and MHAC, the Municipal Heritage Advisory Committee.