reading + entertainment banner

2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction


One of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction – previously known as the Orange Prize for Fiction – celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. The Shortlist was announced on April 3, and the winner was revealed on June 7.

Alderman, Naomi .

2017 Winner. "Cleverly structured, brilliantly imagined and skilfully written The Power is a compelling and relevant work. Electrifying." (Danny Wallace)

The Power imagines a world in which almost every woman suddenly develops the ability to electrocute people with a flick of their fingers.

Thien, Madeleine
Do not say we have nothing

Thien's novel, winner of the Giller Prize and shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2016, brings to life one of the most significant political regimes of the 20th Century – China's Cultural Revolution. The story is told through the eyes of a young Chinese woman who has fled to Canada from Tiananmen Square.

Adebayo, Ayobami
Stay with me

Set against the social and political turbulence of 1980s Nigeria, Stay with Me is a story of marriage and motherhood. Yejide knows the only way to save her marriage to Akin is to have a child. When his family insist he takes a second wife she is livid with jealousy and becomes desperate to get pregnant before her rival.

Morgan, C. E.
The sport of kings

A contemporary portrait about the scars of the past that run through an American family, The Forges, who are first-time horse breeders. When an African-American man, just out of prison, comes to work in the stables, the ugliness of the farm's history rears its head.

Riley, Gwendoline
First love

Neve, a writer in her mid-30s married to an older man, Edwyn, draws the reader into the battleground of her relationship.