reading + entertainment banner

If you like: Downton Abbey

Share

Can't get enough of this popular costume drama? Here are some similar DVDs and books.

Rowley, Emma
Behind the scenes at Downton Abbey

Step inside the props cupboard or the hair and make-up truck and catch a glimpse of the secret backstage world.

Todd, Charles.
A bitter truth

World War I nurse and accidental sleuth Bess Crawford learns that no good deed goes unpunished. When a troubled houseguest is found dead, Bess herself becomes a prime suspect in the case. This murder leads her to a dangerous quest in war-torn France, an unexpected ally, and a startling revelation that puts her in jeopardy before a vicious killer can be exposed.

Jones, Sadie.
The uninvited guests

Set sometime in the early part of the 20th century, somewhere in the north of England, the novel takes place over a single day, April 30. A celebration is underway for Emerald's 20th birthday, and what appears to be a light comedy is derailed when a local train jumps its track, soon filling Sterne with stranded, shocked passengers. The "uninvited guests" are decidedly lower class and deliberately indistinct, but for one notable exception.

Bailey, Catherine
The secret rooms

While researching another book, historian Bailey uncovered mysterious gaps in the correspondence of the 9th Duke of Rutland, John Manners. Wondering who had removed the letters, she unravels secret after secret of the wealthy family at Belvoir Castle circa WWI.

Baker, Jo.
Longbourn

The servants in the Bennet household live their lives in Regency England during the Napoleonic Wars. A retelling of Jane Austen's Pride and prejudice from the servants' perspective.

Brown, T. J.
Summerset Abbey

Following the death of their father, Rowena and Victoria Buxton, along with their closest friend Prudence are send to Summerset Abbey, a country estate.

Kinghorn, Judith.
The last summer

In July of 1014, Clarissa Granville lives with her family in the idyllic isolation of a grand country house. Enter the housekeeper's handsome son.

Fellowes, Jessica.
The chronicles of Downton Abbey

As Season 3 of the award-winning TV series opens, it is 1920 and Downton Abbey is waking up to a world changed forever by World War I.

MacColl, Gail.
To Marry an English Lord

From the Gilded Age until 1914, more than 100 American heiresses married impoverished British aristocrats. Gail MacColl's book is filled with vivid personalities, gossipy anecdotes, grand houses, and a wealth of period details.

Weldon, Fay.
Habits of the house

Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, a beautifully atmospheric novel about an English country house and the people who inhabit it, upstairs and downstairs, over the course of 240 years.

Royal Upstairs Downstairs

A grand tour of stately homes and castles.

The Countess Of Carnarvo, .
Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey

The history of Highclere Castle (otherwise known as Downton) and its inhabitants.

Harrison, Rosina .
Rose: my life in service to Lady Astor

In 1928, Rosina Harrison arrived at the illustrious household of the Astor family to take up her new position as personal maid to the infamously temperamental Lady Nancy Astor, who sat in Parliament, entertained royalty, and traveled the world. "She's not a lady as you would understand a lady" was the butler's ominous warning. But what no one expected was that the iron-willed Lady Astor was about to meet her match in the no-nonsense, whip-smart girl from the country.

Byatt, A. S.
The children's book

Focuses on several aristocratic and artistic families from 1895 to 1914. Shortlisted for the 2009 Man Booker prize, it touches on social issues, the Arts and Crafts movement, and the politics of the era.

Winspear, Jacqueline
Maisie Dobbs

Maisie Dobbs isn't just any young housemaid. Through her own natural intelligence—and the patronage of her benevolent employers—she works her way into college at Cambridge. When World War I breaks out, Maisie goes to the front as a nurse. It is there that she learns that coincidences are meaningful and the truth elusive. After the War, Maisie sets up on her own as a private investigator. But her very first assignment, seemingly an ordinary infidelity case, soon reveals a much deeper, darker web of secrets, which will force Maisie to revisit the horrors of the Great War and the love she left behind.

Fellowes, Jessica.
World of Downton Abbey

A lavish behind-the-scenes companion book to the series.

Goodwin, Daisy.
The American heiress

For daughters of the new American billionaires of the 19th century, it was the ultimate deal: marriage to a cash-strapped British Aristocrat in return for a title and social status. But money didn’t always buy them happiness.

Morton, Kate
The house at Riverton

At the end of the Edwardian era, a scandal at house party threatens a family's way of life. Years later, a woman who was a young maid at the time will hold the key to the family's secrets.

Nicolson, Juliet.
The perfect summer

The granddaughter of the scandalous literary couple Vita Sackville-West and Harold Nicolson, Juliet Nicholson has written a fascinating anecdotal history of Edwardian high society at it’s zenith during one long, hot summer.

Upstairs downstairs

Part sequel, part remake of the hit 1970s drama - revisit Eaton place in 1936.