reading + entertainment banner

Canadian Fiction Awards 2017


Reading + Entertainment

  • maple leaf on wood

Susan, Hespeler | November 23, 2017

Canada Council Director and CEO Simon Brault recently said that “our culture depends on our literature, which does us proud around the world,” and this is borne out in the number of Canadian authors who are represented in international awards. Rachel Cusk, Madeleine Thien and Ruth Ozeki all spring to mind. The Canadian fiction awards give us even more, and provide the international community with a taste of the talented writers in Canada today.

The 2017 Governor General’s Literary Awards take us “around the world” and back in time: from Hong Kong to Moscow and beyond, and include an imaginative retelling of the life of General Wolfe. The winner --We'll All Be Burnt in Our Beds Some Night-- was revealed on November 1, and the award will be presented by Julie Payette on November 29, in her first official ceremony with the Canada Council for the Arts.

This year’s English language finalists in the fiction category were:

All the beloved ghosts book coverLost in September book coverThe Water Beetles book coverUncertain Weights and MeasuresWe'll all be burnt in our beds someday book cover

Micheal Redhill's Bellevue Square is this year's Giller winner. The 2017 Giller Finalists included three previous nominees and two new to the shortlist. Rachel Cusk was previously shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize for her novel Outline in 2015, Michael Redhill’s debut novel Martin Sloane made the 2001 shortlist, and Eden Robinson was shortlisted for her novel Monkey Beach in 2000. Michelle Winters and Ed O’Loughlin appeared on the shortlist for the first time.

Transit book coverMinds of Winter book coverBellevue Square book coverSon of a TricksterI am a Truck book cover

This year’s 2017 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize is more lucrative than in previous years since it has been doubled to $50,000. Previous winners include Andre Alexis (Fifteen Dogs), Miriam Toews (All My Puny Sorrows), Alice Munro (Runaway) and Helen Humphreys (Afterimage). David Chariandy's Brother is this year's winner. The 2017 finalists were:

  • Bad Endings, by Carleigh Baker 
  • This Accident of Being Lost, by Leanne Betasamosake Simpson

Last NeanderthalBrother book coverAmerican War cover