reading + entertainment banner

The water dancer

Share
bookimage
Coates, Ta-Nehisi.
Rating:
4
4
Best known for his non-fiction writing, essayist Ta-Nehisi Coates marks his debut as a novelist with the story of a young man with unusual abilities who escapes slavery and becomes an agent of the Underground Railroad. The writing here is gorgeous, with sentences that beg to be re-read just for their lyricism. I was also pleased to find empathetic characters and some unique plot elements that took the story into the realm of the supernatural. Fans of James Baldwin, Colton Whitehead or Jesmyn Ward will probably appreciate this Oprah’s Book Club 2019 selection.
Meghan Casey (Staff) (Queen's Square Library)
29/10/19